Start typing and press Enter to search

This website does not support Internet Explorer. For a correct visualization we recommend to use Microsoft Edge or Google Chrome.

Fallstudien

Oberflächencharakterisierung tribologischer Beschichtungen: Verschleißeigenschaften, Schichtdicke und Rauigkeit

Aerospace & Automotive, Fallstudien, Tribology
| Other articles

The Institute for Research in Advanced Materials and Mathematics (INAMAT2) from Public University of Navarre (UPNA) is a multidisciplinary research institute that brings together researchers from different scientific areas (Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Materials Science).

Mit dem S mart 3D-Profilometer lässt sich Volumenverlust der Verschleißspuren nach den Reibungs- und Verschleißprüfungen genauer messen, denn dieses Gerät misst die tatsächliche Form der Verschleißspur.

Das Forschungsinstitut für fortschrittliche Materialien und Mathematik (INAMAT2) ist ein multidisziplinäres Forschungsinstitut, das Forscher aus verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Bereichen (Mathematik, Physik, Chemie und Materialwissenschaften) zusammenbringt. Unser gemeinsames Ziel die Entwicklung, die Verbreitung und der Transfer von Kenntnissen unterschiedlicher Gebiete. Die Abteilung für Werkstofftechnik blickt auf eine lange Geschichte von Studien im Zusammenhang mit Beschichtungen und der Verbesserung von Materialeigenschaften zurück.

Unser Forschungsschwerpunkt besteht in der Verbesserung der tribologischen Eigenschaften diamantähnlicher Kohlenstoffschichten (DLC), die durch Hochleistungsimpulsmagnetronsputtern (HiPIMS), einem neuartigen PVD-Verfahren, auf Werkzeugstählen abgeschieden werden. Aufgrund ihrer außergewöhnlichen Eigenschaften, wie hervorragende Verschleißbeständigkeit, geringer Reibungskoeffizient, hohe Härte und Biokompatibilität sind die hier untersuchten Beschichtungen für die Industrie von größtem Interesse. Unsere Studien zielen auf die Verbesserung der tribologischen Eigenschaften wie Haftung und Verschleißfestigkeit von DLC-Beschichtungen auf verschiedenen Stahlsubstraten ab.

Mit dem 3D-Profilometer von Sensofar charakterisieren wir die Oberflächen mit höherer Messgenauigkeit und erstellen 2D- und 3D-Bilder von höchster Qualität.

Vermessen wurden sowohl beschichtete als auch unbeschichtete, runde und flache Proben. Als Substrat dienten diverse Stahl- und Keramiksorten. Auf diesen Substraten wurde Hochleistungs-Beschichtungen, wie DLC, abgeschieden. 18
Translated (0%) In these samples, we carry out friction and wear tests with a pin-on-disc tribometer, and after that, we measure the wear tracks. An den Proben werden Reibungs- und Verschleißprüfungen unter Einsatz eines Pin-on-Disk-Tribometers durchgeführt. Im Anschluss werden die Verschleißspuren vermessen.

cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-1a
Abb. 1a. Reibungs- und Verschleißprüfungen an einer Probe.
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-1b
Abb. 1b. Eine Probe nach der Reibungs- und Verschleißprüfung.
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-2
Abb. 2. Probe zur Bewertung der Schichtdicke.

Es gibt zahlreiche Parameter zur Untersuchung der tribologischen Eigenschaften von Oberflächen und Beschichtungen: die Nanohärte, die Haftung zwischen Beschichtung und Substrat, die Rauigkeit, die Schichtdicke und die Verschleißeigenschaften. Mit dem S mart Profilometer können wir die Oberflächenrauigkeit, die Dicke von Beschichtungen und die Volumeneinbuße nach Reibungs- und Verschleißprüfungen messen. Dies ist zur Berechnung des Reibungskoeffizienten erforderlich.

Bei industriellen Anwendungen ist die Verschleißbeständigkeit eine sehr wichtige Eigenschaft, da sie den Ausschlag für die erwünschte Leistung gibt und die Lebensdauer von Materialen steigert. Die Bestimmung dieses Wertes ist kein Leichtes, denn es wirken zahlreiche Faktoren zusammen: Die Verschleißmechanismen ändern sich, und sowohl am Pin als auch an der Scheibe tritt Verschleiß auf.

Die Charakterisierung von Verschleiß ist kein einfaches Unterfangen, doch mit dem Profilometer von Sensofar ist es möglich, wahrheitsgetreue Abbildungen der bei Reibungs- und Verschleißprüfungen auftretenden Abnutzungen zu erstellen und das Volumen des abgetragenen Materials genauer zu messen.

VOLUMSMESSUNG

Bei den Reibungs- und Verschleißprüfungen werden Aluminiumoxidkugeln mit einem Durchmesser von 6 mm, einer maximalen Oberflächenrauheit von Ramax 0,050 µm und einer Härte von etwa 1650 HV genutzt. Als Scheiben kamen unterschiedliche Proben beschichteter und unbeschichteter Stähle um Einsatz. Während der Prüfung rotieren die Scheiben unter den folgenden Bedingungen gegen den Pin: 40 N Belastung, 200 U/min und 20.000 Zyklen. Die Prüfung wurde an jeder Probe dreimal wiederholt, wobei die Spurradien je 8, 10 und 12 mm betrugen. Während dieses Vorgangs entstehen Verschleißspuren deren Volumsverlust zur Ermittlung des Reibungskoeffizienten gemessen wird.
Zur Messung des Volumsverlusts, der Grundlage zur Berechnung der Verschließbeständigkeit, kam die Konfokaltechnologie zum Einsatz. Die Objektive wurden je nach Breite der Verschleißspuren gewählt. Für die unbeschichteten Proben eigneten sich Objektive mit fünf- und zehnfacher Vergrößerung. Zur Vermessung der deutlich schmaleren Spuren an den unbeschichteten Proben waren 20X- und 50X-Objektive erforderlich.

cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-3
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-3-profile
Abb. 3. Mit dem S mart 3D-Profilometer (10X EPI) durchgeführte Messung des Volumsverlusts einer Beschichtung.
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-4-wcc
Abb. 4a. Beispiel einer WC-C-Verschleißspur.
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-4-tac
Abb. 4b. Beispiel einer Verschleißspur an einer Probe mit ta-C-Beschichtung, erstellt mit dem konfokalen Profilometer (Hellfeldobjektiv mit zehnfacher Vergrößerung).

Zur Ermittlung eines möglichst genauen Wertes wurde der Reibungskoeffizient auf zwei unterschiedliche Arten bestimmt: gemäß der Norm ASTM G99 und direkt auf der Basis des mit der Konfokaltechnik gemessenen Volumsverlustes. 45
Translated (0%) When Confocal profiler measurements are used directly, the measured volume loss value is extrapolated to the entire wear track and with that volume loss value the wear coefficient is calculated. Bei der direkt von den Messungen des Konfokal-Profilometers ausgehenden Berechnung, wird der Volumsverlust-Messwert auf die gesamte Verschleißspur umgelegt. Danach wird Reibungskoeffizient auf der Basis des Volumsverlusts berechnet.

cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-5
Abb. 5. Vergleichsdiagramme des je Probe ermittelten Reibungskoeffizienten, Ermittlung nach ASTG G99 (oranger Balken) und Konfokal (blauer Balken).

Das Hauptziel bestand in der möglichst genauen Charakterisierung der Verschleißbeständigkeit von Beschichtungen, und dies gelang mit dem S mart 3D-Profilometer. Dank der Fähigkeit des Profilometers, den Volumsverlust nach Reibungs- und Verschleißprüfungen unter Berücksichtigung der tatsächlichen Form der Verschleißspur zu messen, sind die konfokal ermittelten Reibungskoeffizientwerte geringer und wahrheitsgemäßer als die Berechnung nach der Norm ASTM G99.

MESSUNG DER DICKE UND RAUIGKEIT

Darüber hinaus war es möglich, die Oberflächen- und Profilrauigkeit der Proben zu messen und die mit zwei verschiedenen Messtechniken (Konfokal- und Interferometrie) ermittelten Werte anschließend zu vergleichen. Auf diese Weise wird die Präzision der gemessenen Rauigkeitswerte gewährleistet. Die Rauigkeit des Substrats ist ein für die Haftung zwischen Beschichtung und Substrat ausschlaggebender Faktor.

cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-6
Abb. 6. Messungen der Oberflächenrauigkeit (0,08 Cut-off) einer beschichteten Werkzeugstahlprobe mit konfokaler Mikroskopie und dem 50X Objektiv.
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-7
Abb 7. Infometrische Messungen (10XDI) der Profilrauigkeit einer beschichteten Werkzeugstahlprobe.

Die Messung der Beschichtungsdicke war rasch und einfach. Genau wie die Rauigkeit wurde auch die Beschichtungsdicke zur Überprüfung der Ergebnisse sowohl konfokal als auch infometrisch gemessen. Der Hauptvorteil bestand bei diesem Messverfahren darin, dass es sich um einen zerstörungsfreien Vorgang handelt.

cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-8
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-8-profile
Abb. 8. Mit einem S mart 3D-Profilometer ermittelte Messungen der Beschichtungsdicke.

Zur Messung der Rauigkeit und der Schichtdicke wurden sowohl die Konfokal- (50X) als auch die Interferometrietechnik (10X) genutzt. Auf diese Weise wurden die beste Tiefenauflösung und die genauesten Werte erzielt.

Bei der Untersuchung der tribologischen Eigenschaften von Oberflächen und Beschichtungen gilt es zahlreiche wichtige Parameter zu berücksichtigen: die Nanohärte, die Haftung zwischen Beschichtung und Substrat, die Rauigkeit, die Schichtdicke und die Verschleißeigenschaften. Der Profiler von Sensofar kann auf all diese Parameter zugreifen und liefert genauere Ergebnisse als andere zur Charakterisierung genutzte Methoden. Dank seiner Vielseitigkeit, Geschwindigkeit und Benutzerfreundlichkeit ist der Profilierter eine hervorragende Option zur Überprüfung ermittelter Werte unter Einsatz unterschiedlicher Techniken.

Referenzen

  1. Claver A, Jiménez-Piqué E, Palacio JF, Almandoz E, Fernández de Ara J, Fernández I, Santiago JA, Barba E, García JA. Comparative Study of Tribomechanical Properties of HiPIMS with Positive Pulses DLC Coatings on Different Tools Steels. Beschichtungen. 2021; 11(1):28.
  2. García JA, Rivero PJ, Barba E, Fernández I, Santiago JA, Palacio JF, Fuente GG, Rodríguez RJ. A Comparative Study in the Tribological Behavior of DLC Coatings Deposited by HiPIMS Technology with Positive Pulses. Metals. 2020; 10(2):174.

Zugehörige Produkte

Schnittdarstellung Metallkugellager

Start typing and press Enter to search

This website does not support Internet Explorer. For a correct visualization we recommend to use Microsoft Edge or Google Chrome.

Case Studies

Surface characterization of tribological coatings: wear properties, thickness and roughness

Aerospace & Automotive, Case study, Tribology
| Other articles

The Institute for Research in Advanced Materials and Mathematics (INAMAT2) from Public University of Navarre (UPNA) is a multidisciplinary research institute that brings together researchers from different scientific areas (Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Materials Science).

With the S mart 3D profilometer, it is possible to more precisely measure the volume loss of the wear tracks after the friction and wear tests, since it measures the real shape of the wear track.

The Institute for Research in Advanced Materials and Mathematics (INAMAT2) is a multidisciplinary research institute that brings together researchers from different scientific areas (Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, and Materials Science), with the common objectives developing of developing, disseminating, and transferring knowledge from various fields. The materials engineering department has a long history of studies related to coatings and material surface improvements.

Our research focuses on improving tribomechanical properties of Diamond-Like Carbon (DLC) coatings, deposited by the novel PVD technique High Power impulse magnetron sputtering (HiPIMS) with positive pulses on tool steels. These coatings are of great interest to the industry because of their extraordinary properties: excellent wear resistance, very low friction coefficient, great hardness, or biocompatibility. These studies aimed to improve the tribomechanical properties, such as adhesive or wear resistance, of the DLC coatings on different steel substrates.

With Sensofar’s 3D optical profiler, we expected to characterize the surfaces with greater measurement accuracy, in the and higher-quality 2D and 3D images.

Coated and uncoated round and plane samples have been measured. Different steels and ceramics have been used as a substrate. After, high-quality coatings, such as DLC, are deposited on them. In these samples, we carry out friction and wear tests with a pin-on-disc tribometer, and after that, we measure the wear tracks.

cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-1a
Figure 1a. Friction and wear tests being carried out on one of the samples.
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-1b
Figure 1b. Image of one of the samples after a friction and wear test.
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-2
Figure 2. Sample used to determine the thickness of the coating.

There are many key parameters in studying the tribomechanical properties of a surface or a coating: nano-hardness, adhesion between the coating and the substrate, roughness, and/or thickness of the layers or wear properties. With the S mart profilometer, we can measure the superficial roughness, the thickness of the coatings and the volume loss after the friction and wear tests, which is necessary to then calculate the wear coefficient.

In industrial applications wear resistance is a very important property since it can determine the correct performance and provide a longer life of the materials. Determining this value is not easy, since many factors are at play: there are changes in the wear mechanisms and both the pin and the disc suffer wear.

The characterization of the wear is not simple, but with Sensofar’s profilometer we are able to achieve the most realistic representation of the wear suffered during the friction in wear tests and to better measure volume loss.

VOLUME MEASUREMENT

For the friction and wear tests we used 6 mm diameter alumina balls, with a surface maximum roughness of Ramax 0.050 µm and a hardness of around 1650 HV. Different samples of coated and uncoated tool steels were used as the disks. In the tests, the disks rotate against the pin under the following conditions: 40 N load, 200 rpm and 20,000 cycles, and the tests were repeated three times at 8, 10 and 12 mm (track radii) for each sample. As a result of this test, a wear track appears from which the volume loss is measured to determine the wear coefficient.

The volume loss, measured to later calculate the wear resistance, was measured using Confocal technology. The objectives were chosen depending on the width of the wear tracks, using the 5X and 10X lenses for the uncoated samples, where the widest wear tracks were observed, and the 20X and 50X lenses for the coated samples that presented the narrower tracks.

cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-3
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-3-profile
Figure 3. Measurements of the volume loss of the coating acquired by the S mart 3D optical profilometer (10X EPI).
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-4-wcc
Figure 4a. Image of the wear track of a WC-C.
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-4-tac
Figure 4b. Image of the wear track of a ta-C coated sample acquired by Confocal profilometer (10X brightfield objective).

The wear coefficient was determined in two ways to achieve the most accurate value; following the standard ASTM G99 and straight from the Confocal measures of volume loss. When Confocal profiler measurements are used directly, the measured volume loss value is extrapolated to the entire wear track and with that volume loss value the wear coefficient is calculated.

cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-5
Figure 5. Comparative graph of the wear coefficient values obtained for each sample measured by standard ASTM G99 (orange plot) and Confocal (blue plot).

The main goal, to characterize the wear resistance of the coatings in the most accurate way, was achieved with the S mart 3D profilometer. Due to the profilometer’s ability to measure the volume loss after the friction and wear tests taking into account the real shape of the wear track, the wear coefficient values obtained by Confocal are lower and more realistic than those calculated following the standard ASTM G99.

THICKNESS AND ROUGHNESS MEASUREMENT

Moreover, it was possible to easily measure the superficial and profile roughness of the samples, then to contrast the values obtained by using two different technologies for measuring, Confocal and Interferometry. In this way, it was possible to ensure the precision of the roughness values obtained. The substrate’s roughness can be a determining factor in the adhesion between the coating and the substrate.

cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-6
Figure 6. Measurements of the superficial roughness (0.08 mm cut off) of a coated tool steel sample by Confocal microscopy with the 50X objective.
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-7
Figure 7. Measurements of the profile roughness of a coated tools steel sample by interferometry (10XDI).

Finally, the thickness of the coatings was measured in a fast and simple way. As well as for roughness, the thickness was measured both with Confocal and Interferometry, in order to corroborate results. The main advantage of this measurement is that it was possible to measure the thickness without the need for destructive testing.

cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-8
cs23-upna-tribological-coatings-8-profile
Figure 8. Measurements of the thickness of the coating acquired by the S mart 3D optical profilometer.

For the roughness and thickness measurements both Confocal (50X) and Interferometry (10X) were used. This way we tried to achieve the highest resolution in depth to obtain the most accurate values.

There are many parameters that are important to study the tribomechanical properties of a surface or a coating such as nano-hardness, adhesion between the coating and the substrate, roughness, thickness of the layers or wear properties. Sensofar’s optical profiler can assess all these properties, as well as being more accurate than other methods of characterization. Finally, it should be noted that the versatility, speed, and ease of use of the S mart profilometer give us the option of using different techniques for corroborating the values obtained.

References

  1. Claver A, Jiménez-Piqué E, Palacio JF, Almandoz E, Fernández de Ara J, Fernández I, Santiago JA, Barba E, García JA. Comparative Study of Tribomechanical Properties of HiPIMS with Positive Pulses DLC Coatings on Different Tools Steels. Coatings. 2021; 11(1):28.
  2. García JA, Rivero PJ, Barba E, Fernández I, Santiago JA, Palacio JF, Fuente GG, Rodríguez RJ. A Comparative Study in the Tribological Behavior of DLC Coatings Deposited by HiPIMS Technology with Positive Pulses. Metals. 2020; 10(2):174.

Related products

cs22-gpainnova-polishing-process-1